Remember Mo Ibrahim’s prize for “good governance” awarded annually to an African leader? The winner gets $5 million over 10 years and $200,000 annually for life thereafter. Previous winners have included such prudent politicians as Mozambique’s Joaquim Chissano and Botswana’s Festus Mogae.

Apparently Thabo Mbeki, South Africa’s disastrous second democratic president (1999-2008), was among the candidates for this year’s prize.

This year, however, there won’t any winner because Mo Ibrahim can’t find a suitable candidate. Nobody deserves it.

Read more.